Planning Commission

The Defiance City Planning Commission is a seven member board that reviews site plans, preliminary and final subdivision plats, zoning amendments, variance requests, and requests for flood plain, special uses, home occupations and nonconforming uses.  Membership consists of three citizens appointed by the Mayor, Park and Recreation Board Chairman, CRA representative, the City Administrator, and the Mayor.

The Planning Commission follows Rules of Practice & Procedures as revised in February of 1999.

The City Planning Commission meets on a monthly basis in the Defiance Municipal Building at 631 Perry Street.  Regularly scheduled meetings are the third Monday of each month at 4:30 PM.  Completion of the attached application and fee submittal is required to be placed on Planning Commission agenda. Alley or Street Vacation Petitions can be found here.

The Planning Commission completed the task of updating and revising the City’s Zoning Code as well as the Zoning Map.  On November 11, 2014 City Council adopted the revisions.  The revised Zoning Code and Map took affect December 11, 2014.


  • Jen Clady, Chair, 
  • Steve Hoffman, Vice-Chair
  • Gary Butler, Member
  • Drew Shindler, Member
  • Mike Adams, Parks & Recreation Representative
  • Mike McCann, Mayor
  • Ryan Mack, City Administrator/CRA Representative


  • Rex Robison, Zoning Commissioner
  • Niki Warncke, Planning Commission Clerk
  • Melinda Sprow, P.E., City Engineer
  • Connie Seimet, Secretary

Minutes and Agendas

Planning Commission meeting minutes and agendas are available upon request from the Engineers Office 419.784.2249.