Board of Control

The Board of Control is composed of the Mayor, the City Administrator, the Law Director, and the Finance Director, with the Mayor presiding. The Board oversees financial and administrative matters pertaining to the city and works closely with City Council.  Decisions are reached with a majority vote of all members. Records of Board proceedings are maintained and available to the public.

Team Members

Ryan Mack
Sean O'Donnell
John Lehner

Mike McCann, a native of Defiance, was elected as the Mayor of the City of Defiance in November 2015.  McCann, a 1975 Defiance High School graduate, worked at ServiceMaster by McCann since 1969 when his parents Dick and Marilyn McCann purchased the business.  Following graduation from high school, he attended the University of Toledo before rising through the ranks at ServiceMaster by McCann to become President/CEO in 2005. Mayor McCann and his wife Laurie have five children and twelve grandchildren.

Prior to his election as Mayor, McCann served two years as City Council President.  In the 1980s he served on both the city park board and the planning commission and in the 2000s was a member of the charter review committee. Mayor McCann spends a majority of his time considering ways to provide service to the community as efficiently as possible, abating nuisances and blight, creating an environment to promote economic development; and most recently, he has begun to work on housing opportunities and neighborhood revitalization.

Mayor McCann’s goal is to strengthen every aspect of the Defiance community.

Ryan Mack was appointed as the Administrator for the City of Defiance in 2022.  Prior to his appointment, he served as one of the elected Defiance County Commissioners for 7 years.  During his term as Commissioner, he managed County finances and provided oversight for a multitude of County Departments and organizations.  His work experience prior to that included several years as a United States Congressional District Representative in Northwest Ohio.

Ryan served in the United States Army and was deployed to Afghanistan in 2010.  He received the Purple Heart for injuries sustained during the Battle of Marjah.  After returning home, Ryan earned his Bachelors Degree at Defiance College.

Ryan resides in the City of Defiance with his two children who enjoy hiking through community trails, and playing in several of our beautiful parks.

Sean O’Donnell was appointed City Law Director by Mayor Mike McCann on January 1, 2018.  Sean graduated magna cum laude from Hillsdale College in 2007 and earned his law degree from the Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C. in 2010.  Prior to his appointment, Sean worked in private practice in Defiance and chaired the City Planning Commission.  Sean is a member of the local Knights of Columbus council and is President of the Defiance Rotary Club.

Sean and his wife, Joy, reside in Defiance with their three children, Caroline, Lucy, and Peter.

John Lehner was appointed as the Finance Director for the City of Defiance in 2009.  He has over 30 years’ experience working in Public Finance.  John came to Defiance having served as the Finance Director for Talbot County, Maryland and Clyde, Ohio.  He also had experience as a budget analyst for the State of Rhode Island.

John is a graduate of The Ohio State University and holds a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from Kent State.

The City of Defiance Finance Department has earned recognition from the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) for its audited financial statements each year that John has been the Finance Director.  The Finance Department has also earned the Ohio Auditor of State Award with Distinction numerous times over the years. This award recognizes the efforts of the Finance Department as a clean audit, which is only presented to about 3-5% of the 5,900 entities audited by the Ohio Auditor. This puts the City of Defiance in a very select group of cities and schools.

John is originally from the Akron, Ohio area and he and his wife reside in Defiance and have two adult children.

Contact Information:

City Administration
631 Perry Street
Defiance, Ohio 43512


Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Monday’s at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday’s at 9:00 a.m.
City Hall Front Conference Room, 631 Perry Street
Agenda’s are posted on the bulletin board in the foyer of City Hall






Revolving Loan Fund Committee Information:

Meetings take place the first Wednesday of each month at 10:00 a.m. at:
631 Perry Street
Defiance, Ohio 43512


The Monthly Agenda is posted in the lobby area at 631 Perry Street.

Special Meetings: