Defiance Municipal Court Judge John Rohrs III swore in council’s re-elected at-large members Joe Eureste, Jill Krutsch, and Steve Waxler during the first City Council Meeting of 2022. Each won a four-year term in November 2021 during a campaign that featured six candidates for three open seats.

They join Ward 1 Councilman Steve Corbitt, Ward 2 Councilman John Hancock, Ward 3 Councilman Joshua Mast, and Ward 4 Councilman Chris Engel whose seats will be on the 2023 November election ballot.

Dave McMaster was also sworn in as council president.