2019 Calendar: Community Events and City Dates


2019 Community Events

See the latest updates on Defiance’s Community Calendar: visitdefianceohio.com/events/

FOR MORE DETAILS ON EVENTS:
Defiance Development & Visitors Bureau (DDVB): Visit the DDVB for more information
Defiance Community Cultural Council (DCCC): Visit the DCCC for more information
Defiance Area Chamber of Commerce: Chamber of Commerce Event Calendar

2019 City Dates:__________________________________________________________________

MARCH 2019

Friday-Saturday, March 8 from 4-9 p.m. and March 9, 2019 from 9-5 p.m.: Home and Garden Spring Show at Defiance College George M. Smart Athletic Center
Tuesday, March 19, 2019: City of Defiance Compost Site Opens – 26273 State Route 281 East (Water Pollution Control)  COMPOSITE SITE HOURS

APRIL 2019

Saturday, April 6, 2019:  24th Annual Neighborhood Clean Up Your Park Day – 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.   PARK CLEAN UP DETAILS
Tuesday, April 9, 2019: Mayor Mike McCann’s 2019 State of the City Address at 7:00 p.m. in Council Chambers
Thursday, April 11, 2019:  Downtown Chocolate Walk – 4-7:30 p.m. – organized by the DDVB
Friday, April 19, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Good Friday
Saturday, April 27, 2019:  Spring Clean-Up & Disposal Day ~ 8:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Werlor Dumpster’s will be placed at Kingsbury Park, Latty’s Grove, Bronson Park, and Diehl Park. Sponsored by Defiance County Environmental Services, Omnisource, Werlor Waste Control, and the City of Defiance.

MAY 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019: City of Defiance 2018 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Saturday, May 11, 2019:  Lilac Festival and Street Fair – organized by the DDVB
Monday, May 27, 2019: Memorial Day Program at Riverside Cemetery Veterans’ Section at 10:00 a.m.
Monday, May 27, 2019: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Memorial Day

JUNE 2019

Saturday, June TBD:  Kingsbury Pool Opens
Monday, June TBD:  Mosquito spraying begins this week.

JULY 2019

Wednesday, July 3, 2019:  Fireworks Celebration at Diehl Park
Thursday, July 4, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of the 4th of July
Saturday, July 27, 2019: 9:00 a.m start time. Join The Andrew L. Tuttle Memorial Museum staff as they commemorate the 225th Anniversary of the building of Fort Defiance and the Battle of Fallen Timbers on a six to eight hour tour, including six different stops along the way. Find Details HERE!

AUGUST 2019

Saturday, August 2019:  Maumee Valley Car Club Car Show organized by Maumee Valley Car Club with the Defiance Development & Visitors Bureau

SEPTEMBER 2019

Monday, September 2, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Labor Day
TBD Saturday, September 2019:  Rockin’ the Rivers Music & Rib Fest – organized by the DDVB

OCTOBER 2019

Monday, October 14, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Columbus Day
Thursday, October 24, 2019:  Trick-or-Treat Night in Defiance ~ TIME:  6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 26, 2019:  Defiance Halloween Parade ~ TIME: 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

NOVEMBER 2019

Thursday, November 28-29, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Thanksgiving

DECEMBER 2019

Tuesday-Wednesday, December 24-25, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Christmas Eve/Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019:  HAVE YOURSELF A MERRY CHRISTMAS from all the Employees at the City of Defiance!
Tuesday-Wednesday, December 31, 2019-January 1, 2020:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of New Year’s Eve/Day

JANUARY 2020:

Wednesday, January 1, 2020: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of New Year’s Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020:  HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM THE EMPLOYEES at the City of Defiance!

FEBRUARY 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Presidents’ Day Holiday