2020 Calendar: Community Events and City Dates


2020 Community Events __________________________________________________________

See the latest updates on Defiance’s Community Calendar: visitdefianceohio.com/events/

FOR MORE DETAILS ON EVENTS:

Defiance Development & Visitors Bureau (DDVB): Visit the DDVB for more information

Defiance Community Cultural Council (DCCC): Visit the DCCC for more information

Defiance Area Chamber of Commerce: Chamber of Commerce Event Calendar

2020 City Dates:__________________________________________________________________

FEBRUARY 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Presidents’ Day Holiday
Thursday, February 27, 2020: COFFEE WITH A COP at AAA 1007 north Clinton Street, Defiance, Ohio
Saturday, February 29, 2020: LEAP OF KINDNESS DAY    READ MORE HERE!

MARCH 2020

Thursday, March 5, 2020: 6:30 P.M. – 8:00 P.M.: A Public TOWN HALL Meeting for The Northtowne Estates Residents
Tuesday, March 10, 2020: 11:00 A.M. – 12:30 P.M.: A Public TOWN HALL Meeting for The Northtowne Estates Residents
Thursday through Friday, March 12-20, 2020: 2020 CENSUS WILL BE DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME  READ MORE ABOUT THE CENSUS HERE
Friday-Saturday, March 13-14, 2020: POSTPONED! Home and Garden Spring Show at Defiance College George M. Smart Athletic Center
Tuesday, March 17, 2020: City of Defiance Office ARE operational but CLOSED to the Public. MORE INFORMATION FOUND HERE:
Tuesday, March 17, 2020: City of Defiance Compost Site Opens – 26273 State Route 281 East (Water Pollution Control)  COMPOSITE SITE HOURS
Thursday, March 26, 2020: CANCELLED: COFFEE WITH A COP at Cabin Fever on South Jefferson Street

APRIL 2020

Saturday, April 4, 2020:  Clean Up the Parks Day is CANCELLED
Saturday, April 4, 2020:  The Northwesternaires Barbershop Chorus Annual Show at 2:00 p.m. & 7:30 p.m. at Defiance Community Auditorium. $12.00
Thursday, April 23, 2020: Downtown Chocolate Walk – 4-7:30 p.m. – organized by the DDVB
Friday, April 10, 2020:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Good Friday

MAY 2020

Friday, May 8, 2020:   Hall of Fame Inductee Program at 7:00 PM at the Stroede Center for the Arts
Saturday, May 9, 2020:  Lilac Festival and Street Fair on Clinton Street – FREE EVENT!
Week of May, 2020:  Water main Flushing these weeks!  Find information here:
Monday, May 25, 2020:  MEMORIAL DAY EVENT at Riverside Cemetery Veterans’ Section at 10:00 a.m. Prelude of music selections begin at 9:45 a.mInclement weather site: Defiance Community Auditorium
Monday, May 25, 2020:   City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Memorial Day

JUNE 2020

JULY 2020

Friday, July 3, 2020:  FIREWORKS Celebration at dusk at the Confluence of the Maumee and Auglaize Rivers. NOTE: From now on this celebration will always be the FIRST FRIDAY IN JULY!
Friday, July 3, 2020:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Independence Day
Saturday, July, 2020:  River Fest at Kingsbury Park from noon – 8:00 p.m.

AUGUST 2020

Saturday, August, 2020:  Defiance County Fair at Defiance County Fairgrounds located in Hicksville, Ohio.

SEPTEMBER 2020

Monday, September 7, 2020:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Labor Day. Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.This year marks the 125th anniversary of Labor Day being celebrated as a national holiday.
Saturday, September 26, 2020:  Rib Fest 2020

OCTOBER 2020

TBD:      The Splash Park is closed for the season. See you next May!
Monday, October 12, 2020:      City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Columbus Day
WEEK OF: October  2020:    Semi-Annual Water Main Flushing  
WEEK OF: October  2020:    FIRST WEEK OF FALL LEAF PICK-UP 
Thursday, October 22, 2020:     Witches Brew in Downtown Defiance ~ TIME:  5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. (21 and over event organized by the DDVB)
Thursday, October 29, 2020:     Trick-or-Treat Night in Defiance ~ TIME:  6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 31, 2020:      Defiance Halloween Parade~ TIME: 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. ~ organized by the Lions Club
WEEK OF: October  2020:    Semi-Annual Water Main Flushing  
WEEK OF: October  2020:    SECOND WEEK OF FALL LEAF PICK-UP 

NOVEMBER 2020

Thursday-Friday, November 26-27, 2020:   City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Thanksgiving

DECEMBER 2020

Thursday-Friday, December 24-25, 2020:   City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Christmas
Thursday-Friday, December 31, 2020-January 1, 2021:   City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of New Year’s Eve/Day

2021 City Dates:__________________________________________________________________

JANUARY 2021:

Thursday-Friday, December 31, 2020 – January 1, 2021: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of New Year’s Eve/Day
Saturday, January 1, 2021:  HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM THE EMPLOYEES at the City of Defiance!
Monday, January 4, 2021: City of Defiance Offices Re-Open