2018 Community Events and City Dates


2018 Community Events

See the latest updates on Defiance’s Community Calendar: visitdefianceohio.com/events/

2018 City Dates:

FOR MORE DETAILS ON EVENTS:
Defiance Development & Visitors Bureau (DDVB): Visit the DDVB for more information
Defiance Community Cultural Council (DCCC): Visit the DCCC for more information
Defiance Area Chamber of Commerce: Chamber of Commerce Event Calendar

  • OCTOBER 2018

Monday, October 8, 2018:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Columbus Day
Thursday, October 11, 2018:  DCCC presents Royal Wood‘s Performance at 7:30 p.m. at the Stroede Center for the Arts. Tickets are $10 at the door. ~  Click here for more information!
Sunday, October 14, 2018:  DCCC presents Sunday at the Stroede Series with Christopher Scholl and Suji Lee at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are $10 at the door. Click here for more information
Thursday, October 18-20, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. and October 21, 2018 at 2:00 p.m.:  Fort Defiance Players present, “We Will Rock You” at the Defiance Community Auditorium ~ Click here for more information!
Thursday, October 25, 2018:  Coffee with a Cop at 8:00 a.m. at Defiance VFW Post 3360, 201 Clinton Street, Defiance
Thursday, October 25, 2018:  FREE & Open to the Public ~ Town and Gown Series presents “Defiance Street Railroads” at 7:00 p.m. at the Andrew L. Tuttle Museum ~ Click here for more information!
Thursday, October 25, 2018:  Trick-or-Treat Night in Defiance ~ TIME:  6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 27, 2018:  Defiance Halloween Parade ~ TIME: 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

  • NOVEMBER 2018

Saturday, November 3, 2018:   DCCC Performance Series presents, Brian LaBlanc’s “Simply Diamond – A Tribute to Neil Diamond” at 7:30 p.m. at the Defiance Community Auditorium, 629 Arabella Street, Defiance ~ Click here for more information.
Thursday, November 15-17, 2018:  Young Peoples Theatre Guild presents, “Fiddler on the Roof” at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $5 at the door. ~ Click here for more information!
Thursday, November 23-24, 2018:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Thanksgiving
Thursday, November 29, 2018:  Coffee with a Cop at 8:00 a.m. at Defiance Eagles Aerie 372, 711 W. Second Street, Defiance
Friday, November 30, 2018:  FREE & Open to the Public ~ DCCC Young Audience Series presents Madcap Puppets, “A Madcap Christmas Carol” at 7:00 p.m. at the Stroede Center for the Arts ~ Click here for more information!

  • DECEMBER 2018

Thursday, December 6, 2018:  FREE & Open to the Public ~ The City of Defiance and the Andrew L. Tuttle Memorial Museum present “Fifty and Still Going” at 7:00 p.m. recognizing the Northwesternaires Barbershop Chorus at the Stroede Center for the Arts ~ Click here for more information!
Saturday, December 8, 2018:  FREE & Open to the Public ~ DCCC Cinema for Kids presents “ELF” at 2:00 p.m. at the Stroede Center for the Arts ~ Click here for more information!
Thursday, December 13, 2018:  FREE & Open to the Public ~ The Black Swamp Community Orchestra presents “Christmas Memories” at the Stroede Center for the Arts ~ Click here for more information!
Wednesday, December 19, 2018:  Coffee with a Cop at 9:30 a.m. at Defiance County Senior Center, 140 E. Broadway Street, Defiance
Monday-Tuesday, December 24-25, 2018:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Christmas Eve/Day
Monday-Tuesday, December 31, 2018-January 1, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of New Year’s Eve/Day

 

  • JANUARY 2019

Tuesday, January 1, 2019: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of New Year’s Day

  • FEBRUARY 2019

TBD February , 2019: Mayor McCann’s 2019 State of the City Address
Monday, February 18, 2019: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Presidents’ Day Holiday

  • MARCH 2019

TDB:  City of Defiance Compost Site Opens – 26273 State Route 281 East (Water Pollution Control)

  • APRIL 2019

Friday, April 19, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Good Friday

  • MAY 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019: City of Defiance 2018 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Saturday, May 11, 2019:  Lilac Festival and Street Fair – organized by DDVB   
Monday, May 27, 2019: Memorial Day Program at Riverside Cemetery Veterans’ Section at 10:00 a.m.
Monday, May 27, 2019: City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Memorial Day

  • JUNE 2019

Saturday, June TBD:  Kingsbury Pool Opens Click here for Hours and Admission Costs
Monday, June TBD:  Mosquito spraying begins this week.

  • JULY 2019

Wednesday, July 3, 2019:  Fireworks Celebration at Diehl Park
Thursday, July 4, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of 4th of July

  • AUGUST 2019

Saturday, August 2019:  Maumee Valley Car Club Car Show organized by Maumee Valley Car Club with the Defiance Development & Visitors Bureau

  • SEPTEMBER 2019

Monday, September 2, 2019:  City of Defiance Offices Closed in observance of Labor Day
Saturday, September 2019:  Rockin’ the Rivers Music & Rib Fest – organized by DDVB